cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Credit Score 550 to 750 goal!! New here, need help and feedback!

tag
NoShirtsAllowed
New Visitor

Credit Score 550 to 750 goal!! New here, need help and feedback!

Greetings! This is my first post, and I appreciate your time in advance!

A little bit about me. I am currently 21 y/o. I am in my last year of college coming this fall. I realized that now is the time to really focus on my credit. Before I had no interest in credit history. However, I now realize that 1 of the most important things (if not the most important, besides family) is having a good (great) credit score.

Without proper credit score, you will be titled to higher interest rates, or possibly getting declined on any offers. I.e.. Car loans, and leasing approval, mortgage approval, etc..

I recently went into a car dealer to lease a moderate car (around $40,00) lease would only be about $350 per month for me for 3 years. I currently work, and have worked in the same office for the past 3 years, making 35k/a year. I was declined (haha).

I received the report, and it stated that I had a mid 500 score. 

So here I am today, to ask for your help, and a chance to bring my credit score on the rise. Lets say my current credit score is 550.. I think a reasonable goal for now is to break 650.

What would you guys recommended? I read up on the forums, and online and have done some research. It seems to me the general consensus is that I should have at least 4 major credit cards, and some sort of auto credit history.  

I currently have 2 major credit cards, capital 1 and Chase. Since I have such a low credit score, I am worried I will get declined for other credit lines. If I get declined, that will hinder my credit score even more (if im  not mistaken). I am looking into AMEX green card however. Not sure if I should apply tho.