Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Credit Union vs Bank Credit Cards

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Credit Union vs Bank Credit Cards

I'm a newbie here and find these threads and forums great reading. I will be researching what product to purchase to give me the best service regarding my scores and reports soon.

Can anyone tell me if having a credit union CC is not as good as having a bank CC?

I am interested in maximizing my scores, and this conversation came up the other day at work. A co-worker suggested that credit unions are not scored as highly. Now I'm confused.

I currently have: Amex Gold Rewards Plus Charge Card
                          Amex Blue Cash credit card w/a CL of $1000 (Rarely Used)
                          NFCU Visa Plat w/a CL of $12,500
                          LLBean Visa w/a $500 CL (Rarely Used) 

Thanks-

Message 1 of 21
20 REPLIES 20
cadavis0609
Frequent Contributor

Re: Credit Union vs Bank Credit Cards

It does not matter who the credit card comes from in FICO's scoring formula. CU cards are sometimes easier to obtain and as far as customer service goes, they are second to none. They also can be more generous with CL's and interest rates. Some users in here swear by the CU. Your co-worker is misguided.
Sept 07 EQ 419

April 2012 EQ- 669 EXP- 680 TU-700= Proud New Homeowner!
Message 2 of 21
Anonymous
Not applicable

Thanks alot. NFCU is Fantastic, and it would have taken wild-horses to drag me away!
Message 3 of 21
smallfry
Senior Contributor

I think Hauling said credit union credit cards carry slightly lower weight in scoring than major bank cards. 
Message 4 of 21
MidnightVoice
Super Contributor

@smallfry wrote:
I think Hauling said credit union credit cards carry slightly lower weight in scoring than major bank cards. 
Correct.  A very minor difference

Just a few points 

The slide from grace is really more like gliding
And I've found the trick is not to stop the sliding