Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Credit line increase and credit score question

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Credit line increase and credit score question

Hi everyone,

let me start off by saying I'm pretty new to all of this (first post) as my wife and I will be looking into getting a home in the next 6 months. We've started to consolidate some things, pay others off and get negative items off our credit. My question is the following. My last credit score was not that great, around 690 and my credit card utilization was VERY bad...out of $1100 was using about $800 of it (older charges, really don't use it anymore)

I recently request and got approved for a line of credit increase (no hard pull) from $1100 to $3000 with the theory that it would help my CC utilization and my overall credit score quickly. Am I on the right track here or am I thinking about this the wrong way? I was thinking tripling my CC available credit but keeping the balance at $800 (lower as I pay it off) would give me a quick boost (permanent if I dont use the card anymore) to the credit score in preperation for the upcoming mortage stuff.

This correct?

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
takeshi74
Senior Contributor

Re: Credit line increase and credit score question

@Anonymous wrote:

I recently request and got approved for a line of credit increase (no hard pull) from $1100 to $3000 with the theory that it would help my CC utilization and my overall credit score quickly.

Utilization (Amounts Owed) is 30% so it is a significant factor.

http://www.myfico.com/crediteducation/whatsinyourscore.aspx

Going from 72% to 27% is a signficant reduction in utilization.   However, keep chipping away at the derogs as they will hold you back.

Message 2 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

Great thanks for the information!! Trying to get a spike in my credit score and thought this was a good move!

Message 3 of 9
9CLINE
Valued Contributor