cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Credit pulled w/out permission - recourse??

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Credit pulled w/out permission - recourse??

Hello, newbie here. I'm hoping for some knowledgeable advice. Thanks in advance.

I just purchased a new car from a dealer and they pulled my credit after I specifically told the salesperson not to do so. I even wrote it on the "Credit Application".

The salesman told me that I had to fill out personal info on the form due to the Patriot Act. I put my address & SSN only (no salary/wages info), signed it and wrote "DO NOT PULL MY CREDIT" next to my signature.

I did not need any financing because I came in with a Capital One Auto Finance "Blank Check".

These morons still can't figure out who pulled it and why. At least that's the story from the salesman.

Aren't these idiots accountable even after I told them verbally and wrote it on the form? Any advice?

UPDATE:

I did some research on this issue because the auto dealer sales staff continued telling me "it's required by the Patriot Act". Fact is, the "Verification of Identification" in the Patriot Act only applies if you are applying for an account with a financial institution. Since I came in preapproved with a Capital One Auto Finance check, there was no need to apply for an account/credit. Even if they want to use a broader definition for their purpose of ID verification, they can inquire through the Office of Foreign Assets Control (U.S. Treasury Dept.) and verify ID without pulling a credit report. Hope this info helps some others here.