cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DV Debt Validation Technique - Will it work?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

DV Debt Validation Technique - Will it work?

OK, I'm new to the credit repair game but I have two items on my report that are killing my FICO.  They are not valid debts.  I used a suggested DV technique but it seems a bit different than what I've read on here so far.  Please let me know if my technique has flaws or just plain won't work.

1.  Sent DV letter to CA.  Sent certified mail with signature.  In the letter, I asked them to send DV information not only to me, but the credit reporting agency.  Copy of letter also had copy of actual certified receipt to validate that this was the letter that was sent.

2.  30 days passed.  No response from CA.  I assume that credit reporting agencies did not receive anything either.

3.  I sent credit agencies a copy of (1) validation letter and (2) signed certified receipt of validation letter.  Along with this I sent the agencies a letter demanding to remove this item as I have provided adequate proof that the creditor has not responded.

Questions:
1.  Will this "work"?
2.  What are the credit reporting agency's responsiblities after receiving my demand for removal letter?  Do they have to remove immediately to comply with the FCRA or can they take their time and give the creditor another 30 days to respond through their own investigation?
3.  Has anyone successfully used this technique? 

This is holding up the refinance on my house and don't have time to play the "lets spend a year to remove this item" game with the agencies.  I believe I've provided sufficient proof that the DV was sent - but I'm looking for guidance on how the Trans/Equifax/Experian will react to my letter described in #3.

Thanks in advance for your opinion. 
Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: DV Debt Validation Technique - Will it work?

SeniorSwig wrote: