Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Debt Management and Loan options

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Debt Management and Loan options

Wow, who knew there was so much to this Smiley Surprised  I am a newbie to all of this as I recently got married and now am looking to buy a house.  My questions revolve around outstanding debts and differences in my three credit scores.  Also I apologize now for the long windedness of this.

First off I have been enrolled in a Debt Management Program for several years and have 5 months worth of payments left.  Due to the high possibility of having to move out of our current rental I am thinking it may be a good idea to have some extra "disposable" income each month.  The only way I can come up with this is to get a secured or signature loan with my Credit Union and have the DMP pay off the $5k that is left on my cards with that money.  I have talked with my DMP and they said this is possible as I have paid off the BofA and Chase cards.  I guess they, BofA and Chase, watch for new credit inquiries and re-adjust their lowered rates back up if they see any.  Getting a loan will lower my monthly debt payments approx $700, based on a 18 month loan.  The plan would be to pay off the loan in 5 months if we don't need the extra money or pay it off as soon as possible if we do need extra money.  How bad of an idea is this? I have read that getting a loan will lower the scores a bit and since we are hoping to get a home loan after the $5k is paid off I am wary of it.