Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Debt Transfer

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Debt Transfer

I've been receiving phone calls for the past 18 months from debt collectors for someone who doesn't live at my residence.  The calls have come from Allied Interstate, NCO, and now 1st Nationwide Collection Agency, Inc.  I've written to the State Attorney General of MN and he sent letters to ask the agencies to cease and desist, but all they do is transfer the debt.  The company's won't give me any information about the debt (including their address), since I am not the debtor.  I've been cursed at, hung up on and called names by these low lives and I've just about had it.  Does any one have any suggestions??  I've had the same phone number for 35 years and I'm not about to change it now.
Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Debt Transfer

Get an air horn and have some fun with the next caller. Smiley Happy

You could take the numbers from your caller ID and ask the phone company to block them. Personally I'd get the air horn.
Message 2 of 5
Anonymous
Not applicable

How "often is the same company harassing" you? If you really need to put a stop to it, you can. This is ExtRemE, but I had to do it once. It works. Try and get their their address and phone number before you answer anything next time. Say something like I am not telling you anything until I know who you are. I am sure that you have told them "never to call again". Being that you have done that it becomes a crime if they keep harassing you. If you know who they are, have their phone number and address, and really want to put an end to it, you can contact the local police dept in their area and report harassment. The police will contact them, and put a stop to it and they won't sell your information the next time it transfers to a new collection company..... as long as you are not the person they are looking for. Definitely extreme.
Message 3 of 5
Anonymous
Not applicable