Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Different scores?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Different scores?

I am still new to credit score reporting.  Now, I see I have three different scores : Fico, Credit Karma and through amex and cap one.  Is Fico the most reliable?  Or is the score from amex/cap one better when assesing an approval denial for a new credit card?

Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Different scores?

FICO scores are generally the standard industry wide - for the most part. Banks/Lenders often utilize the FICO score in addition to their own internal risk scoring algorithm, or the latter independently. I believe AMEX actually uses your true FICO score. Credit Karma uses what we refer to as 'FAKO' scores, which is based on the Vantage scoring model. It's not near as commonly used, and serves more as a rough estimate of where your credit profile lies. Sometimes it can be accurate, and sometimes it can be far off, but I'd like to think of it as more of an avergage. There are three credit reporting bureaus - Experian, Equifax, and TransUnion. Different lenders will use different bureau reports, and frequently the report that gets pulled by them will be based on your regional location. This forum is a goldmine for information so please use it to your advantage!

Message 2 of 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

Thanks for the info.  Which is a better company chase or amex?

Message 3 of 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

Better being subjective...Amex and Discover tie for best customer satisfaction. Personally I like Amex.
Message 4 of 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

How accurate is the credit score from the credit score tracker of capital one ?

Message 5 of 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

@Anonymous wrote:

How accurate is the credit score from the credit score tracker of capital one ?

Pure garbage.

Message 6 of 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

Is the credit score reported from amex reliable ?

Message 7 of 10
Anonymous