cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dispute Letters

tag
ucmferguson

Dispute Letters

I am an office manager at a mortgage company.  On a daily basis I work with customers that have credit issues.  I hear about these credit repair agencies all the time, but I don't believe in them.  I personally feel that if you want to buy a home, then don't let me see a car repossession last month on your credit.  If you can't pay your other bills, then why would you pay a mortgage?  It is not responsible to help someone raise their credit score just enough to qualify for home financing, knowing that their recent credit history shows that they don't pay the bills that they have!  

Sorry to vent there for a mintue.....Anyway, I have a couple of questions:
1)  Is it true that if an account listed on your report has one wrong number, the wrong balance, or has your name misspelled, you can have the account erased from your report? 
2) What are all of the acronyms that everyone is using?  (CRA, DV, SOL, etc.) Is there a place to find out what they mean?
4) How can I find out the laws in SC that involve credit reporting practices such as, how long a non-reporting inactive account can legally remain on the report, how long one account that has been sold multiple times between collection agencies can remain on the report, and so on?
5) Is there a FREE way to obtain letter templates to dispute inaccurate information on credit reports?  I have heard that you can dispute inaccurate items with a letter, but if it is not worded the correct way, the bureaus do not have to remove the account.
6) I do encourage my customers to pay off all negative credit.  However, I had a customer pay off several collection accounts, and her score dropped by 20 points.  I called the bureau,  and I was told the score dropped because of recent activity on a negative account eventhough the activity was paying the balance down to $0.  Will this really drop your score?