cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Do you use an online-only banking account?

tag
Nik2010
Valued Member

Do you use an online-only banking account?

If so, which one is it, and why did you choose that particular one?

Just looking for some ideas.  I have a big-bank checking account and a credit union checking account, which I love, but I want my daughter to get one that has some products geared toward teens (my current CU doesn't have one).  Plus...my big-bank checking is getting rid of their free checking, so I'm looking to move from there soon, too.

Thanks!

Starting Score: 700
Current Score: 704
Goal Score: 800

Take the myFICO Fitness Challenge

Message 1 of 11
10 REPLIES 10
SFernandez13461
Frequent Contributor

Re: Do you use an online-only banking account?

I've been using Ally for about two years, and I've been really happy with them. They don't charge monthly service fees and there's no minimum deposit required. My only minor complaint would be I wish that deposits were made available sooner, but considering the convenience of making mobile deposits and that the account is free, it's really not such a big deal. And depending on when you get your checks, it's not that bad. I usually end up getting them on a Friday evening, which means they're considered received Monday, and the first $200 is available Tuesday, and the rest the following day.

I did have an account with ING, and I liked it just fine too. But once Capital One bought them out, I stopped using that account. My only issue with ING was that I never received a $50 bonus I had earned just after I opened the account.

The last response just reminded me that Ally also reimburses you for any ATM charges.

EX 695, EQ 703, TU 681 (1/17)
Message 2 of 11
p-
Valued Contributor

Nik2010 wrote:  Do you use an online-only banking account?...my big-bank checking is getting rid of their free checking...