cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Does having a LARGE amount of student loans hurt my credit?

tag
veerob982003
Established Member

Does having a LARGE amount of student loans hurt my credit?

Hello,

Just wanted to get everyone's opinion on my large amount of student loans in regards to my credit score.  I am a brand new physician, therefore, I have a huge amount of student loan debt.  However, they are all in a good status, consolidated at an excellent rate and currently deferred.  Does having a lot of student loan debt even being in a good status hurt your credit score or prevent you from obtaining credit?  SInce I am a doctor, will most lenders understand that going to professional schood is VERY expensive?  I am in the process of trying to rebuid my credit (low to mid 600s) to obtain a business loan to start my own practice.  My credit really took a "hit" being in school so many years and struggling to survive on student loans and work-study.  My income (working for someone else) is not a lot, but I would like to appy for a credit card with a higher limit.  I recently applied with CCCU and I am awaiting their response.  I have noticed from comments on the board that CCCU really likes to watch an applicant's "debt to income" ratio.  With a high amount of student loans (over 100K) and an income just under 100K, do I have a chance of getting approved?  I have

1 collections account with CPA that I am working with the OC (Charter Communications) to have deleted...CPA is giving me -ELL

3 late payments over 3 years with Ford Credit (SUV has been paid in full for 2 years); I have tried a GW letter with Ford with no response...just put a letter on PFB last nite to Ford

1 late payment to Capital One that should fall off in September due to a gw letter (late payment occurred in Sept 2006 and Cap 1 wants to see a year of on-time payments b4 deletion)