Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Establish Credit?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Establish Credit?

So, I'm currently a freshman at college, and I've been advised by couple of friends/family members to establish my credit history in order to save money in the long run in terms of interest when getting like an auto loan and mortgage.

Is this generally true?

Also, how do I establish credit? My friends from high school that went to college told me that's it very hard to get a credit card and even approved it's something like 200 dollars limit. Is it really worth my time and effort to apply for credit card to establish credit?

I'm just afraid that I'll overspend if I get a credit card because that's what I'm going to do.

Help please?

Message 1 of 12
11 REPLIES 11
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Establish Credit?

@Anonymous wrote:

So, I'm currently a freshman at college, and I've been advised by couple of friends/family members to establish my credit history in order to save money in the long run in terms of interest when getting like an auto loan and mortgage.

Is this generally true?

Also, how do I establish credit? My friends from high school that went to college told me that's it very hard to get a credit card and even approved it's something like 200 dollars limit. Is it really worth my time and effort to apply for credit card to establish credit?

I'm just afraid that I'll overspend if I get a credit card because that's what I'm going to do.

Help please?

I can see you became an credit expert now after doing all those credit research, it seems like you're planning for your future already, that's good Smiley Wink

This reminds me of myself couple years ago, I became very concerned (or even paranoid) about credit history/cards until my parents told me "stop caring about saving interest and just pay for house and cars in cash" (that's literally what they said, speaking of maximum savings including inflations costs)

Message 2 of 12