Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

GW for Collection Acct?

tag
Schoolbuskid
Valued Contributor

GW for Collection Acct?

Does anyone know if GW letters work for Collection accounts? I have a couple of medical bills $200 and under. Didnt know if GW letters would be a good way of getting rid of them. Or if you know of anything else that would help, it would be greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance!
Rebuilding and Reducing Debt, is my game plan.
Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
PayYouNever
Frequent Contributor

Re: GW for Collection Acct?

Try to PFD for like 40 to 60% of the original bill. That's a little more realistic, and $80 to $120 should be doable.

But MAKE SURE you get the Deletion Letter in Writing from the CA, before you send a check (with a restrictive endorsement on it). That way it'll be like it never existed.
Message 2 of 9
Schoolbuskid
Valued Contributor

Ok now for my second question i am still new at this soooo! How do i right a GW letter and how do i make sure i get the deletion letter from the CA? After ive paid for 40-80%? HELP!
Message 3 of 9
Schoolbuskid
Valued Contributor

Ok now for my second question i am still new at this soooo! How do i right a GW letter and how do i make sure i get the deletion letter from the CA? After ive paid for 40-80%? HELP!
Message 4 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

If you already paid the collection, then send a GW to the original creditor. Don't waste your time with the CA. If you haven't paid yet, then as posted above, send a PFD (pay for delete) letter. Two different things. Check on the most requested threads for example letters for both purposes.
Message 5 of 9
Schoolbuskid
Valued Contributor

ok! i have not paid for the collections yet! so do i need to send a PFD to the CA? I read an example of the PFD posted it seems like thats what i need to do instead of a GW! Thanks!
Message 6 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable