Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Guide Me

tag
JoeRo
Valued Member

Guide Me

So this credit thing is new to me.  I'm a college Sophomore, and just opened a Capital One Secured card 4-5 months ago.  I follow the advice of the forum and keep my utilization low and pay off every month.  I also just had a student loan taken out, though it hasn't appeared on my report as of yet.  I'm looking to build my credit as much as possible for the next year or so in hopes of buying a car.  I'm not quite sure what to do next.  I just tried to open up a store card at TjMaxx, and recieved the ten day response.  So I haven't heard on that yet.

Which brings me to my tentative plan.  I'm considering opening an installment line of credit, secured of course, at my local bank branch.  Are there any other secured credit cards out there that are worth considering as well?

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
pizzadude
Credit Mentor

Re: Guide Me

@JoeRo wrote:

So this credit thing is new to me.  I'm a college Sophomore, and just opened a Capital One Secured card 4-5 months ago.  I follow the advice of the forum and keep my utilization low and pay off every month.  I also just had a student loan taken out, though it hasn't appeared on my report as of yet.  I'm looking to build my credit as much as possible for the next year or so in hopes of buying a car.  I'm not quite sure what to do next.  I just tried to open up a store card at TjMaxx, and recieved the ten day response.  So I haven't heard on that yet.

Which brings me to my tentative plan.  I'm considering opening an installment line of credit, secured of course, at my local bank branch.  Are there any other secured credit cards out there that are worth considering as well?

Welcome to the forums !