cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

HELP!! Capital One Secured For First Credit card 6 years ago. Now what?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

HELP!! Capital One Secured For First Credit card 6 years ago. Now what?

Hello everyone. This is my frst post. Thanks for your help in advance. Im new to this world of credit and dont understand everything so i figured i would ask here. I was trying to do a product change with capital one, i still have the same secured card with them as when i was 18, with the same $750 CL. At this point, the card is useless, i pay a membership fee for this card and they wont provide CLI for secured cards and they wont do a product change to put me into a unsecured card. I want to cancel this card for the lack of customer service and how unwilling they are to help their customers. The ONLY thing i am worried about is loosing my history for this card. Will my credit scores drop if i cancel? I dont know anything about how cancelling effects the scores i just know that i will loose that history and it is my longest. Not sure what you guys use to monitor credit but if you would let me know i could use some input on that also. I just use Credit Karma- 772 and 749. 

Thanks! 

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: HELP!! Capital One Secured For First Credit card 6 years ago. Now what?

Bump

Message 2 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

No Help? Screw me right?

Message 3 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

Nick, do you have other cards? If you do, cancelling this isn't likely to have a major, long term impact. If it is your only card, you need to start hunting for some pre-approvals to get your credit started in earnest.