Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help- I'm New!

tag
harleyquinn
Established Member

Help- I'm New!

Hello Everyone,

I am a complete newbie to the aspect of...being responsible for my credit. I used to like to stick my head in the sand. I have decided enough is enough and I am trying to educate myself on my credit.

I have pulled my scores and have discoved my scores as follows:

EXP=633
TU=613
EQ=623

Of course I am trying to figure out how to properly read my scores and understand my report but I noticed something (when I opened the infamous unopened mail) I seem to have a CA after me for a CC I had years ....YEARS ago. This CC is not on my report, I am thinking because it HAS to be over 7 years old. I am thinking it may be as old as 10-12 years old. Can they legally still come after me, or is this where I would write a letter telling them I do not owe this debt and to no longer contact me?

If I no longer see this CC on my report I am assuming that is because it has "dropped off" I just don't want to make the wrong move and "restart the clock"

BTW. be warned you will see a lot of me! I am honestly so overwhelmed I don't even know where to start Smiley Surprised

Message 1 of 15
14 REPLIES 14
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Help- I'm New!

Hey, I am not sure where you should begin but you came to the right place.  I have only been using this site for a week and the info. I have gotten is really helpful.   Be patient and keep asking the questions.  No question is too silly, these guys are here to help.  Good luck......   ps doesn't it feel good to finally face the music?!

Message 2 of 15
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hello-

The first rule seems to be: Don't call or talk with the CA

The debt may have aged off your CR but you don't know for sure, so...DV the CA. Hopefully you'll find out who the OC was, the date of the debt, and if it really is your debt. Once you have that info you will be in a better position to take the next steps.