cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How long will Stafford student loans hurt my credit score?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

How long will Stafford student loans hurt my credit score?

I'm new to the forums so my apologies if this was answered elsewhere. I've spent the last years or so trying to repair my credit and am wondering how long will Stafford student loans stay on my report? I graduated in 2011 and most of these loans were from 2008-2009 but still seem to appear on the report. Will these ever go away? I have not paid these at all but am afraid to start paying them at this point because I don't want the ~7 year clock to reset on this. Many of them appear as BoA/AES and USAFUNDS on my report. 

My friend has been helping me with other aspects of my report (I had never monitored my credit score before) but he told me to come here to ask about student loans as they are completely different and something he knows little about. Would really appreciate if I could get some solid advice on what my best plan of action is here. If I need to provide more info I will gladly do so. I've gotten my credit score up from a 550 to around a 640 but it's sort of stalled there for the time being.

Not sure how relevant this is but the loans show up as 10-15 different small loans instead of 1 loan on my credit report so there are a lot of missed payments showing up. 

Thanks in advance for your help 

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor

Re: How long will Stafford student loans hurt my credit score?

If the student loans are federal, they are exempt from the normal 7 year exclusion periods, have no SOL protection, and mandate continued reporting of delinquencies if the loan remains unpaid.

Message 2 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable