Did you mean: 

How often . . .

tag
azsassycat
Frequent Contributor

How often . . .

do you pull your credit reports?

FICO/FAKO scores?

I'm still new to this so I'm trying to get a feel for how often I should pull my reports/scores.  I was thinking monthly, but is that too often or not often enough?

Thanks!

Cathleen
10/22/07 (FICO) EQ 544 EX 520 TU 518
03/04/08 (FICO) EQ 606 EX 599 TU 601
04/24/08 (FICO) EQ 600 EX 580 TU 608
06/02/15 (FICO) EQ 578 EX 561 TU 589
Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
haulingthescoreup
Moderator Emerita

Re: How often . . .

@azsassycat wrote:
do you pull your credit reports?
FICO/FAKO scores?
I'm still new to this so I'm trying to get a feel for how often I should pull my reports/scores. I was thinking monthly, but is that too often or not often enough?
Thanks!
Cathleen

My usual two cents' worth:

What's your goal? Are you doing some initial learning about credit, getting familiar with the ins and outs, and generally keeping an eye on things? --maybe monthly for 3 months, and then quarterly or something, and then once a year.

Are you getting ready to ask for big credit, like a mortgage, or doing some serious repair work, or is something scary going on? Then maybe several times a week for 2 or 3 months, and then back off to the first schedule.

Or have you just discovered previously unknown obsessive-compulsive tendencies, and are getting caught up the score chase, and have sat at the laptop so long that you're starting to look like Jabba the Hutt? --then daily pulls are fun, until you get thrown out by TrueCredit.

I do 5-6 FAKO report pulls/ week (TrueCredit, ignore the scores), and pay for FICO scores when I can't resist the curiosity any more. I hope you are a bit healthier... For what it's worth, though, it has paid off on my scores and general credit health, and I am now at the point where all that's left to do is to send a couple of GW's and then wait for some lates to fall off.