Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to handle an "account not mine" situation

tag
vanillabean
Valued Contributor

How to handle an "account not mine" situation

While people seemingly flock to the CRAs for disputes, a should-be member of the Mod Squad says that "The FCRA dispute processes are not really the way to handle an "account not mine" situation.” He recommends going directly to the lender.

But what if the whole thing started at the lender? What if your AU card status changed to closed, although the owner of the account first requested that you be taken off?

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
takeshi74
Senior Contributor

Re: How to handle an "account not mine" situation

I'm no expert on this so do your own due diligence.  As RobertEG states the approach suggested requires that "The consumer need only put their assertion that they did not authorize the account into the form of a sworn police report, which carries penalties for any knowingly false statements you might make."  If you did authorize the account holder to add you as an AU then that does not apply.

Message 2 of 6
Shogun
Moderator Emeritus

It depends really on how the account is "not mine".  Is it an AU?  Is it identity theft?  Is it just the wrong person's information on your CR?  I agree with RobertEGs suggestion that using the automated dispute system is not the way to go.  

If it is an AU, it should be a simple remedy to remove.  First, I would contact the lender and ask that you be removed from the account.  There shouldn't be a problem.  I think Amex is the only one that does hold the individual AU card holder responsible for debts occurred on  "their" card.

If it is another person's info that's showing on your CR, say you're a JR, they're a SR, or you have similar names and it's shown on your account.  You can do a direct dispute to the CRAs and provide proof.  They must answer the direct dispute, unlike the eOscar watered down version of verifying.