cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to pay off CC debt when living Outside the US?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

How to pay off CC debt when living Outside the US?

Hello all. I believe I am in a somewhat unique situation. I lived in the US when I was a grad student, got a Capital One Credit card in the summer of 2007. I left the US in the fall of 2009. I kept paying (and using) my credit card, using a relative's address. Late 2013 though, he stopped using my money to pay off my card and instead bought stuff for himself. The card has always been with me so he was only using the money I was sending and not my cc.

Fast fordward to this year and my aunt tells me I have all these letters regarding my credit card. Long story short, I am being contacted by a collection agency. I owe almost $3500 dollars, as no payment had been made in more or less 18 months.

The thing is, I do not live in the US anymore. I want to pay, ideally in full but I'm flexible on that. How do I proceed? 

I know you have to ask for things in writing and all that stuff, which complicates my situation a bit since I am not physically in the country. I am reading about ho to pay, and how you should always send a cashiers check. I have a savings account with Wells Fargo (checking account wasn't used and had a $0 balance for a few months so they cancelled it). 

Should I call the collection agency? Capital One? Any advice is well received at this point as I have absolutely no idea how to proceed and what to do.

Thank you all very much.

TL;DR. Contacted by collector agency regarding cc debt, I no longer live in the US, want to pay debt, how to go about doing this?

Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor

Re: How to pay off CC debt when living Outside the US?

AS I see it, you have two separate issues.  One, how to negotiate payment of the debt to your best advantage, and two, who and how to pay.