Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I am a Total Newbie - with a Utilization and CCCU Question

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

I am a Total Newbie - with a Utilization and CCCU Question

Good Evening All,

Wow - what a great site!  I stumbled on it when I bought my credit scores just before attempting to get my daughter a private student loan through Citi.  When that didn't get approved, it put me on a mission to get my reports in order!!!  I have learned so much in just a few days, and now I am trying to memorize all the abbreviations!

Here is my situation - My three scores are in the 653-673 range, and they have been slowly improving just because of aging alone.  My last 30 day late pay was in 2004, but years 2002-2004 were a bit messy with some late pays on an auto loan, a couple 30 days on my Countrywide Mortgage, and a couple 90 days on my student loans.  Since then my income has greatly increased, which made things much better.  I have developed a few GW letters to try to get these cleaned up - those go out Monday AM.  Thanks to everybody for the examples.

My utilization is also very high, as I only have 2 main credit cards - Chase and Citi, which I have had for almost 15 years with just a combined $10K total lines.  They are close to maxed.  I am working on paying down the debt, but with one teenager and one college bound, it is pretty slow.  Does it make sense to increase my credit available, say by applying with CCCU for an additional card?  I know I'd get dinged for the inquiry, and I would hardly use it - just to help out the utilization.  My income to debt is pretty good.  Would I even get approved?  Any thoughts or suggestions?

Thanks again for all of your posts.  This site is an incredible, incredible help to many people.  Keep up the great work everybody!  Smiley Very Happy
Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: I am a Total Newbie - with a Utilization and CCCU Question