Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I want to be a success story

tag
miskiss
New Contributor

I want to be a success story

Hello everyone:

I have been reading the threads here for almost two months now, and already I'm addicted!

My story:

I have been an eternal student, working my way through nursing school while raising my two children alone. I am also disabled but only to other people, my handicap will not get in my way now that I'm not going to let it.

So, now that I've graduated and have a better paying job (1 1/2 years as a Registered Nurse), I really need to work on my credit health! My credit was shot, just awful after a year on bedrest 7 years ago. I had two premature children and so I devoted my everything to them. We didn't have much of anything but we had plenty of love!!! I think my FICOs were around 460, just really bad.  All of my accounts maxed out and over the limit, closed, charged off. Nobody in their right mind would give me a credit card. I only applied for credit to get instant discounts at department stores even though I knew I would be declined. Before coming here, I had absolutely no idea about utility, inquiries, anything.

In January 07, I applied to Wells Fargo, and I was at last able to get a card, secured of course, but finally a card. My FICOs were around 560-603. Not great, but when you've been at the bottom any improvement is encouraging. Now that I've been reading I know that this is a result of old bad debt falling off the reports. I also have student loans on automatic payment so that is also helping, maybe?

I also got a small loan at a jewelry store in Jan 07. I didn't even want any jewelry, I just wanted someone to pay every month so I could send out a message, "I am worthy!!!"  And last but not least, when I applied to JC Penney to "get a discount" low and behold I was approved. I almost fell over. All of this in January. I'm not even sure what my scores were, I think they said high 500s.