cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

In a deep hole. Ready to climb out! Have some questions.

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

In a deep hole. Ready to climb out! Have some questions.

Hi all!

I'm just getting started with my repair project and have some questions to help me get started. Here's a brief synopsis of my situation:

Current FICO's

TU 465
EQ 449
EX 517
(Yes, I know, I have a lot of work to do...)

I got to this point by leaving my husband and going to college, then taking a job after college where my paychecks started bouncing. Once I got behind I could never catch up. Now, years later, I just started a new job that gave me a $15k per year raise, so I am ready to rock.

Here are a couple questions I have:

1. I have some really small bills that are really old, for example one of them is for $35 from 2001. From a moral perspective it seems like a no brainer to pay it, but would that update the record and lower my score even further? What is the best way to handle nickel and dime bills that will fall off in the next 12 months or so?

2. I have a couple of credit card accounts that have balances of 3 times the limit. My utilization is through the roof, ranging from 200% to 479% across the 3 CRA's. I plan to submit PFD's but what if they don't work? What would be the smartest way to deal with those? If I pay a settlement then that could be bad, but I have a hard time swallowing paying 3x the amount I spent in order to avoid a blemish on an already abysmal credit file. Anyone have any thoughts?