Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

In desperate need of some good advice

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

In desperate need of some good advice

Greetings,

I am new to the sight and have struggled with credit issues after disaster 3 years ago.  I have 9 accounts that I have settled / charged off or paid on my credit report.  The loan account I have is my car payment witch I have never been late on.  I am 27 years old now and my scores are 620 from Transunion,  622 from the other one (can't remember the name for some reason) and equifax doesn't have a score for me. 
I met with a mortgage broker with my girlfriend and am able to buy a home because of our scores combined comes out to 660.  He told me that to repair my credit I would need to get back in the game and open some revolving accounts.  My fico a year ago was in the 500 range.  I have learned my lesson and am committed to rebuilding my credit.  After much speculation I took the brokers advice and Applied for a home depot card.  I was rejected because of my past delinqencies and my lack of revolving credit.  My questions for this forum are two fold- Will my new mortgage help my credit and what other advice can you give me to get me building my fico again?  thanks in advance - Tom
Message 1 of 11
10 REPLIES 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: In desperate need of some good advice

First, don't post the same thing thrice.

Are the adverse TLs all PIF?

Do you have any CCs now? Secured or not?

Any TLs with lates only?

Message Edited by Noah_Bodie on 06-19-2007 10:44 PM
Message 2 of 11
Anonymous
Not applicable

Time is your best friend in your situation.
Eliminate as much "inaccurate data" as you can on you CRS's - sounds like you may have done this.

Any Credit cards you have need to be kept under 10% utilization

Your mortgage will change your score and long term it will improve it.
Now that you loan is closed- make very calculated decisions on how and when to add trade lines,

Read the Credit 101 thread.