Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Increasing Credit for Student

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Increasing Credit for Student

Hi,

I'm completely new to the "credit world." I just recently got a lease for a Toyota Prius under my name with my mom as a cosigner. I'll be paying it off for about 3 years. I also got a BankAmericard Cash Rewards Platinum with Visa yesterday. I didn't get it through a traditional sense; I actually e-mailed the CEO of BOA (because I got rejected for the Students rewards card twice already), and his assistant called me back the day of and I got the card the next day. She said I'd be getting the card in about 2-3 weeks. I actually didn't get any information about the rewards plan or anything. I've looked it up online though, so I think I'm okay.

I've heard that if I apply to many credit companies and keep getting rejected, it'll decrease my credit score. Is that true? I've applied to quite a few places and rejected. Smiley Sad

What should I be doing now to help increase my score other than paying off the car payments and credit card payments? I also know to stay under 30% (I think) of the credit limit. 

Thanks for any and all advice!

Message 1 of 3
2 REPLIES 2
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor

Re: Increasing Credit for Student

A couple of basics.

First, as a future build of credit score, FICO places great weight upon the successful showing of use of discretionary, revolving credit, with at least two accounts being helpful.

So, in my opinion, addition of the revolving was a great future move. 

Application for new credit, whether approved or denied, permits the addition of the inquiry to your credit report.  However, FICO discontinues the scoring of inquiries after one year.  Approval of new credit, once the account is reported, necessarily lowers your average age of accounts, entering with an age of zero.