Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Installment Loans and Improving Credit History/Score

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Installment Loans and Improving Credit History/Score

Hi!  This is my first time on this board (so be gentle.... haha!).  My husband is Canadian and has been in the US for 3 years.  He has perfect credit (and had perfect credit in Canada), but his score is only 705... we think due to short history in the US.  Plus he only carries AMEX which I understand is not really helpful in terms of credit reporting.  Anyway, we want to improve his score so we can get a great mortgage rate in the next 6 - 12 mos.  Mortgage will be in his name only since
1) I am not working and have no income, and
2) I am rebuilding my credit after abusing credit cards in college (my score is up to 700 now but some negative records have not fallen off yet). 

Despite being able to pay cash, we recently financed a car through Toyota in order to
1) build his credit, and
2) take advantage of a rebate that was only available through financing. 
Our intention was to pay it off right away.  The customer service rep at Toyota Finance said that if we pay off right away there will be no improvement to his credit score and we should keep the account open for at least 6 months.  Of course I am somewhat skeptical since Toyota stands to make $$ on interest the longer we keep the account open.  Can anyone advise at what point to pay off the loan in order to benefit his credit record?  Also, would the same hold true for student loans?  Hubby just finished grad school and will start having to pay back student loan (only about $4,000) in November.
Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
jschaffer
Regular Contributor

Re: Installment Loans and Improving Credit History/Score