Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is it worth it? Experience?

tag
ccsauer
Contributor

Is it worth it? Experience?

Good afternoon, all. I've been reading through these forums, since I have been obsessing about my credit score for the last 2 years or so, but haven't really done much research or found any good forums...until now. A little background: I'm 25, my fiancee is 24, we've both had jobs in our major for 2 years now out of college (that first year out was killer, neither of us found a job in our major) and I proposed a few months ago with a very nice ring, much to the dismay of my newest credit card. For some credit background: I somehow was smart enough...and dumb enough at the same time...to get myself a credit card at age 18. I was relatively good about paying it all off at first, but got worse and worse, but always paid double my minimum. Then I went to Japan for a study abroad during the summer, which meant I didn't work as much (during college i only worked during the summer) so that first semester back's books put me over the limit on my card after nearly maxing it out in Japan. So, of course, i missed a month's payment, went over the limit, got service charges and late payment charges and over limit charges, which, of course, led me to freaking out and not telling my parents, which led me to missing 4 payments in a row before asking them for help. Then, problem #2, 3 years later I was unemployed for 3 months and missed one payment. Other than those 2 things, my credit report is pretty clean, exept for inquiries, but I assume that's normal (apartment companies, my car, a few new cc's). I have a 2 credit cards from visa, 2 mastercards, a discover, and a bank card. I have a Kohls charge card, a Honda finance account, and a strong record of paying rent on time along with all other cards except that one that plagued my past for too long (it is now paid off). All my debt is at 0% APR for the next 10-11 months(Thanks Chase!). Ok, now