New Visitor

Judgement !!!

I recently bought a new car & was informed I had a judgement against me on my credit.

I found out it was from this truck driving school I went to near Portland Oregon.

The contract was that Swift trucking would pay for your schooling as long as you drove with them for a year after you recieved your CDL.  I did drive with them for a few months & only left because I was fired!!!

After I had been driving for a few months I found out a lump on my neck was cancer & had to go through several months of chemo. I received a letter from Swift saying that I was being let go due to excessive medical bills.

Thus my driving school contract became null & void. I began getting collection letters for the $2000.00 bill of the school & swift however I was so swamped with medical bills I paid it no mind.

Jump ahead 7 years & they filed a judement against me. How can this happen when THEY broke our contract??

Can anyone point me in any direction??

By the way, I never recieved any notice of a judgement at all. This came as a big surprise to me.
Established Contributor

Re: Judgement !!!

bump
TU 662 EQ 644
EX 643
Contributor

Do you have the agreement that says you are required to work for them for a year? When two people enter into a contract, it is voided if either party fails to perform according to the contract. In this instance, you failed to perform (work for them for a year) - however, it was THEIR decision - they prevented you from fulfilling your terms of the contract. You may want to read the fine print of that contract though - there may have been some small print regarding the conditions which excuse you from failing to perform. If you don't have one - you could play a trick and see if they'll send you a new contract (hopefully it'll be the same one). This seems EXTREMELY unfair and I think it would present a good basis for a lawsuit. So sorry to hear about this mess. :-(
Highlighted
Senior Contributor

Texsloan wrote: