Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Keeping credit intact during an economic meltdown

tag
Jarrodpd
Regular Contributor

Keeping credit intact during an economic meltdown

With all the news about the stock market being in sharp decline, im now slightly worried about keeping my credit intact. I was only 13 during the 2008 collapse, so im new to this. I have read on here several times that during that period credit lines were reduced by lenders or closed all together, I understand I cant completly control my limits but what is some advice to ride out this period with as little damage as possible.

USAA Platinum Mastercard: $8000
American Express HHonors no AF: $12000
American Express Premier Rewards Gold: NPSL
American Express Platinum: NPSL
US Bank Cash+ Visa Sig: $5100|Chase Freedom: $7000|Chase Sapphire Reserve: $10000
Total combined CL:$42,100|Exp: 763(788Amex)|Equ: 759|Tu: 769 (04 May 2016)
Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Keeping credit intact during an economic meltdown

I would remain calm at the moment. At this point, this is simply a correction that has been coming for some time. The underlying US economy has generally positive indicators so I think this won't be anything like 2008.
The 2008 crisis was deeply rooted in the financial industry, mainly with the housing/mortgage disaster. The same lenders who issued credit cards were the ones being destroyed at the time. All banks are in much stronger positions at this point and consumer finances are generally better.
Remain calm, this is not a crash, it's a long overdue correction!
Message 2 of 9
Atonswife
Contributor