Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Law firm letterhead

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Law firm letterhead

Hello all!

This may seem like a bit of a strange question, but since I am a strong believer that experience often trumps qualifications, I'll ask anyway. 

I am a newly-minted attorney after the three year trudge through law school.  I am hoping to buy a house for my family within the next year or two, but I recently discovered a substantial amount of inaccuracies on my credit report.  So now I am faced with the dreaded dispute letters, et al., which I'm now gearing up to write to all three credit bureaus. 

Now, I'm lucky enough to be employed as an attorney at a fairly large law firm (we do not do consumer law, however), and I can easily write my dispute letters on my firm letterhead, making it very clear that I am an attorney. 

My question is: will the whole lawyer thing help or hinder (or have no effect at all)?  Those who have hired attorneys (or attorneys themselves), did you find any noticeable difference in the response received when it was done through an attorney?  You guys have all the experience, so please let me know.  If writing as a private individual is the better course, I have no problem doing so. 

Many thanks, 

Benchslap

Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
thom02099
Valued Contributor

Re: Law firm letterhead

@Anonymous wrote:

Hello all!

This may seem like a bit of a strange question, but since I am a strong believer that experience often trumps qualifications, I'll ask anyway. 

I am a newly-minted attorney after the three year trudge through law school.  I am hoping to buy a house for my family within the next year or two, but I recently discovered a substantial amount of inaccuracies on my credit report.  So now I am faced with the dreaded dispute letters, et al., which I'm now gearing up to write to all three credit bureaus.