Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Lost credit cards and change of address

tag
Kyva
Valued Member

Lost credit cards and change of address

I received a BCE approval letter with a FICO score 774. I was shocked because my credit history is pretty thin considering that my oldest account is a student loan opened ~3 years agao. My AAOA is less than 2 years and had 3 credit cards at time of application.

As a student, my mails all got sent to a more static permaennt address which is my Uncle's place. I just picked up mails from them to find that all credit cards mails were missing but regular mails and CC offers.

No fradulent activity as yet on my new Discover account, and my old citi account. I don't know for AMEX as I'm unable to open an online account with them as yet.

Now everything gets more complicated -- My uncle's moving, and I'm moving within a month as well. I absoutely don't want to send proof of address documents to each of the CC issuer and checking/saving account bank. On documents for proof of address, I won't have any utilities bill in my name, is that going to be alright?

I want to change my mailing address in just one of my account, and hopefully it would be reported to the credit report which then other CC companies can change my address without any proofs. How should I proceed?

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
pizzadude
Credit Mentor

Re: Lost credit cards and change of address

IF you suspect that someone has taken your credit cards then I would immediately contact your creditors via telephone and request new cards.    Most Creditors will send you a replacement card quickly ~ AMEX will sometimes expedite replacement cards.

When I have moved, I have simply updated my address with the creditor online.   None of my creditors ever asked me to verify or prove that I lived at my new address by providing bills or statements or anything.

March2010 FICO® ~ 695 TU, 653 EQ, 697 EX
Message 2 of 7
Kyva
Valued Member