Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My Plan To Pay Off Installment Accounts

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

My Plan To Pay Off Installment Accounts

I hope this is the correct forum, if not please move this thread. I wanted to get some input on my plan to pay off two installment accounts.  One is a personal loan for $4100 balance at 16.99% and the other is an auto loan for $3500 balance at 13.45%.  I have recently received two credit cards that will take these balances at zero percent interest for 12 months.  I've never done a balance transfer before because I don't have credit card debt, just installment loans.  So this is new to me.  So even though these are installment accounts and not revolving credit cards, I was told they would do the balance transfers. My goal then is to pay $650/month for twelve months to pay them off.  Then I will have zero debt when I go to apply for a mortgage this time next year.  How bad will it hurt my FICO for not having installment accounts open when I apply for a mortgage next year?  I know my debt to credit limit ratio (it would be 70%) will make a HUGE drop in my FICO because I'm putting $7600 of debt on credit cards, but I will not need to apply for any credit for the next year.  I'm set on credit cards and plan on keeping the current auto I will pay off with the balance transfer.  I'm basically trying to take advantage of the zero percent offer.  Worst case that I don't get all the $7600 paid off in twelve months I will post pone applying for a mortgage and just apply for another credit card with a zero percent balance transfer offer. 

My three FICOs currently average 725 because of short credit history.

Message 1 of 11
10 REPLIES 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: My Plan To Pay Off Installment Accounts

You need to consider what would happen if you did not payoff the balance in 12 months.