Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My credit journey as a non-resident

tag
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor

Re: My credit journey as a non-resident

Can you provide a bit of clarification........?

When applying for U.S. based cards and using an address of another in the U.S., are you implying or is the creditor assuming you are residing at that address, or do they clearly know that you are not a U.S. resident?

Message 11 of 18
Anonymous
Not applicable

Well, I was banking with BOA since 2011 have a checking and savings account and used their debit card a lot, so I've always had the relationship with them, and they know that I am not a US citizen/resident. 

American Express did not asked me if I am a resident or not,  however they did an FR on me, where they asked questions and they did not accept my non- US based salary / income which resulted in limiting my gold card to 3100$.  They also told me they are monitoring the usage everytime and they could possibly release the spending limit on the card.  I do not have cards from other banks as yet so I don't know if they will ask me if I am a resident or not.  Half of my family lives in the US, that is why I am using their address as mine.  

Message 12 of 18
Anonymous
Not applicable

newhis, thank you for your advice, I already tried to apply to Alliant for a checking and savings account, but I got the message that the application needs manual review which should take 2 business days and might need additional information from me. I am really looking forward to the secured loan to add it to my mix! 

Message 13 of 18
newhis
Valued Contributor

@RobertEG wrote:

Can you provide a bit of clarification........?

When applying for U.S. based cards and using an address of another in the U.S., are you implying or is the creditor assuming you are residing at that address, or do they clearly know that you are not a U.S. resident?