Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need advice regarding validating before I offer pay for delete letter-

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Need advice regarding validating before I offer pay for delete letter-

Hello, I'm a newbie to credit repair and my credit is pretty shoddy. I've spent the last week devouring the forums and learning all I can about fixing my credit ethically. Now I'm ready to get down and dirty and would like some opinions and advice before I jump in. I believe most of my accounts are still within the SOL for Texas (4 years) and I'm wondering if I should try and validate the accounts with the Collection agency before I send a pay for delete letter. Would this be wise, or since I know they are ours should I just try the pfd letter and skip the disputing and validation process? We are ready to pay the accounts regardless, but if they can't confirm that I owe them money why should I send any- right? Thanks for your opinions-

Message Edited by digichic on 01-20-2008 11:35 AM
Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Need advice regarding validating before I offer pay for delete letter-

Validating is more than proving that you owe the debt. It is also proving that they have a right to collect it from you.  In my case (varies by state) they also have to prove that they are licensed to do business here.

I dv'd debts within SOL that I could pay  - one CA wasn't licensed and deleted; and the other only provided the 'account paperwork' but nothing else.  I'm still working on them.
Message 2 of 5
Anonymous
Not applicable