Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need some advice here...

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Need some advice here...

I'm pretty new to the whole understanding how credit scores work. I guess recently what I've been doing is keeping my score from going up or down. I don't know if I like that. I like to see changes; good or bad. So anyway, here's my thing...

I just got approved for the Amex blue three weeks ago. I've wanted this card for the longest time and I finally got it. Then a week later, I applied for a US bank visa card because I wanted a new Visa card (since I made a mistake by canceling my cap one card lol). And now a few days ago, I applied for a Discover card and got approved for that. I know this is bad... me applying for a million cards within a month's period. The other part of my plan is to cancel all those stupid cards with high APRs. I recently cancelled Value City, CareCredit, Cap One, and HSBC. Just a few hours ago, I decided to give it a shot and call Cap One to reopen my account, along with HSBC Mastercard. So as of now, I have the following cards open:

AmEx Blue (opened 7/2007) - $2k
Discover Card (opened 7/2007) - $1k
Citi mastercard (opened 4/2006) - $5k
HSBC mastercard (opened 12/2006) - $1k
US Visa (opened 7/2007) - $2k
Cap One Visa (opened 5/2003) - $500
GE Line of Credt (opened 3/2007) - $15k

My question is, do I really need this many credit cards opened??? Did I made a huge mistake by applying for all these extra cards in the past few weeks? Should I close some of the accounts? The only cards with any kind of balance right now are Citi mastercard ($3000 balance) and GE Line of Credit ($14k balance). Should I cancel some cards, if so which one's?