cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need some advice

tag
Qwerty99

Need some advice

Hello Everyone, First time poster here. I plan on enlisting in the US ARMY as a reservist or in the National Guard. Before i can do that i need to get my finances in place and explain my poor credit history. I need to do this so i have a shot at getting a security clearance.

I've gone through all 3 credit reports and have made a list of creditors i need to pay off. How should i rank the creditors in my list? Which ones do i tackle first? Also many have been charged off and sent to collection. How do i go about tracking down the current owner? I usually wait for them to contact me, but i need to be pro-active and get this done.

Also i have one letter from a lawyers office that doesnt show up on my credit report. Is that any less important because its not on the report? I apologize for all of the questions, im new to this and want to make sure i do things correctly so i can enlist with a better job than peeling potatoes. I opened several accounts in college while getting my degree in engineering. Being 18 asnd away from home for the first time and having CC wasnt good. I wish i was more educated back then on how credit works. I though i could max the cards and pay them when i got a high paying job out of college. Reality was it took me 3 years to find work. 3 yrs of not paying bills. Everything went to collection and lawyers all withing 3 months of eachother. It'll be a great burden removed when these bills are paid off.

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
guiness56
Epic Contributor

Re: Need some advice