cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Needing to increase my score... Please help!!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Needing to increase my score... Please help!!

Hello all...

I am new to the message boards and wanted to get some advice.  I am in the process of cleaning up my CR and I needed to know what would have the most impact in increasing my scores.  I have about 3,000 dollars in collections as well as I have used about 3,000 dollars on my credit card.  Should I pay the collections or the credit card balances off first.  Unfortunately I can't pay them both right now?  Which would have the most impact in improving my score.  Currentlymy FICO is 560 EX.
Message 1 of 5
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
llecs
Moderator Emeritus

Re: Needing to increase my score... Please help!!

Utilization.

Yes, pmt history is 35%, while 30% of your FICO score is amounts owed. But the CA is a smaller part of the 35%. You still have your history of your CCs, installment accts if any, etc. Whereas if you paid down all CCs, you'll see a huge bump.

To throw in a monkey wrench, if you have $3k in CC balances but have $100k in CC CLs, then you likely won't see a bump. It would all depend on your total CL amount. If you only had $3k in total CLs, then $3k in paydowns will result in a large 50-70 point jump (if I were a betting man).
Message 3 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
rbrown973
Regular Contributor

How old are the collections, are they all accurate???
The Grass Is always Greener On The Other Side
Message 2 of 5
llecs
Moderator Emeritus

Utilization.

Yes, pmt history is 35%, while 30% of your FICO score is amounts owed. But the CA is a smaller part of the 35%. You still have your history of your CCs, installment accts if any, etc. Whereas if you paid down all CCs, you'll see a huge bump.