cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New and confused...long message but I need help!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

New and confused...long message but I need help!

Hello to all! I am completely new to this whole FICO and fixing your credit report craziness and I would totally appreciate all the advice you can give. I have made many mistakes during my 20’s because I was never taught how important any of this is. Why don’t they have this as a required course in high school? Anyway, my current vehicle is dying and not worth repairing and I need to raise my FICO so I can get a good loan (and not a rip off one that I had for my current car) for a new car.

Currently my FICO is EX: 629 EQ: 631 TU: 655. Listed are some questions I have about what is on my credit report and if I should send a GW or if it is too late to send a validation, etc.

But, before I began, one quick question about my student loans. I consolidated my loans back in 2004, but on my credit reports, I have those listed as well as the Stafford Loans listed before my consolidation. Is this normal? And on TU I have 2 of the loans before consolidation listed with Paid Late on it (there is no paid late on EQ or EX). Can I send a GW letter to AES asking if it could be removed or does it not matter when it is listed as Inactive Account? And do I count these loans as my debt to credit ratio or is that just for my credit cards?

EQUIFAX:
ACCOUNTS