Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New credit card user looking for some tips

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

New credit card user looking for some tips

Hey everyone! First off I want to say this community is so awesome. I have been reading it for a month or two now just trying to get the hang of things pertaining to credit cards and credit scores. I am a college student and am trying to work on my score so it will be in good shape for the future. I have had a Chase Freedom card for 7 months now with a $500 limit and always pay the full amount off each statement about a week before the due date. Also just got approved for the Discover IT card a couple days ago with a $1500 limit. I was going to stop using the Chase card and start using the IT card because of the better CB options The info I initially received from people was to use <30% then PIF before the due date. I have been using about 20% or less monthly and my score has seemed to stay the same for the most part on Credit Karma. Hovering at 675 for 6 months. It seems after some research that I would be better served to stay in the 1-9% range of usage that posts to my statement correct? Also the most confusing thing for me about usage is with the timing of how things work. My payments are due on the 4th of each month and the monthly cycle ends on the 7th. So does that mean whatever the balance on the card is come the 7th of each month is my usage amount? My statement will arrive in the mail about a week after that on the 14th. Does that mean whatever I use from the 7th to the 4th of the next month will be for the following months cycle and I should just be paying off the amount on the statement and whatever is used during that time will be paid the following month and has no effect on the current month's payment? This part has been super confusing for me and even the manager at Chase was struggling to explain it in his own words haha so I had to ask here. Thank you so much to anyone that ca