Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to credit, I have a few questions.

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

New to credit, I have a few questions.

Sorry if these have been asked before, but I haven't seen any recent threads asking any of these. I'm also sorry if I'm posting this in the wrong area, but I am not rebuilding credit, I am just building credit and have questions.

Is there an ideal amount of credit cards to have? I only have one secured card with a small credit limit ($200, I'm a college student with a part time job. I can't just tie up $1000 in a single card.) and I am not sure if I should go ahead and get one or two more secured cards with the minimum deposits.

I only have a school loan and that credit card, is that enough to optimally improve my credit score? Though my loan is relatively new, I am on top of the payments every month. Not to mention my card hasn't even arrived from Discover.

I am also confused on utilization. Is ten percent good? Or is it 20 or 30? I have no clue, I keep getting so many different answers when I try and search for them. I'm not about to max out the card, I am just wondering what I need to limit myself to: $20, $40, or $60. The exact percentage is actually a big deal on a card with such a small limit.

As to anything bad on my credit score: I have quite a few inquiries, a few are going to drop off next year. I know that it's bad to have 6/8 (depending on where I look my score up), but I applied for a few before I even cared about credit. Heck, I didn't even have credit. I stupidly thought that they would actually give a student a student credit card. No questions about this, just adding this for information.