Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to credit, myFICO

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

New to credit, myFICO

Greetings all,

I've recently started to read these forums after receiving a barrage of "spam" emails from myFICO. Wondering what all the commotion was, I clicked on a random Tuscani thread and was soon hooked.

I'm a 19-year-old college student with a little over a year's worth of credit history.

I opened up a US Bank Student card (after being declined for a standard card) last year with an initial CL of $500 (APR: I can't remember at the moment, but I believe it to be higher than 20% and lower than 25%). Upon my request six months later, it was increased to $2,000. And as of last week, the company themselves took it upon themselves to increase it again to $2,750, without my asking.

I just recently opened up a WaMu credit card as well. This is not a student card, but I'm not sure if it's a Prime or Subprime card either (not really sure what the difference is, so anyone care to englighten me?). It's a Platinum MasterCard, with an initial CL of $2,000 (APR: 9.99%). They do not take customer requests to increase CL's, but rather will do it on their own time. Does anyone know the schedule or requirements needed before they will take a look at your report and increase your limit?

In due time, perhaps in roughly a year, I hope to apply for an AMEX card. Heck, it might be a Discocer instead. Not sure with one it might be, or what the perks are, but I do have to keep in mind not to pay any annual fees.

Lastly, I get the "PFICO" score from WaMu because I have their card. Through my readings on this forum, I understand that WaMu operates with TU, but my PFICO (this is just as good as a FICO score, correct?) comes from Experian. At least, that's what is says on the site. Any reason for this? Should I be worried? Am I getting a legitimate score?