cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to this whole credit thing, so I have some questions...

tag
credit_needs_help
New Visitor

New to this whole credit thing, so I have some questions...

So, I'm extremely new to looking at my FICO Score, my credit report, etc. All I know is, I'm trying to rebuild my credit because there are thing I'm unable to do and it's frustrating sometimes. The last time I checked my credit report was about two or three months ago. I can't remember which of the 3 credit bureaus I got the report from, but it had a lot more information on it than the one I pulled up tonight. Does each one have different information? And if so, do I pay off those accounts that didn't show up on every report? Sorry if these are confusing questions, but I'm a little lost at this whole thing... lol

Thanks,

Tyler

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
llecs
Moderator Emeritus

Re: New to this whole credit thing, so I have some questions...

Each credit report will most usually show different info and that's because not every creditor reports to all 3. Even if a given creditor reports to all 3, the reports don't update at the exact same time; there might be up to several days of lag time. And accounts/lates can drop early sometimes too.

I'd suggest reading the following:

Common Abbreviations

Credit Scoring 101 - great for knowing what is in your credit score and to see how your score is impacted.

What Steps Do I Take - great for learning the repair process.

and Example letters - PFDs, GWs, DVs, etc.

Message 2 of 6
stillworking
New Contributor