Did you mean: 

Newbie here. Need some help please

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Newbie here. Need some help please

Hi,

Thanks for reading my post.

I am very new to the forum and trying to learn some knowledge and experience to re-build my credit. 

My current Equifax score is 710, and Experian is very low 588. (not sure why the difference is so huge)

Here is my situation:

I have only had 2.5 years credit history from my car loan and I have paid it on time. Currently still owe about $4000. About 1 year and half ago, I moved from Oregon to Texas for new a job after graduation. During that transition, I missed one payment to the previous apartment's cleaning fee (some dog pee damage) . I was very dumb and stupid that I missed this payment, and it went to collection. Even I paid it off, it still effected my score and it dropped hard.

So I opened a credit card, and start to use it for some small purchases, and pay it off right away on time.  And also, as I have mentioned, still have the car loan about $4000, that I pay it monthly on time.

Questions:

1. Should I pay off the $4000 car loan right away? I do have the money to pay it, but some source online says don't do that. My common sense tells me it should always be better to reduce my debt, is it correct for building the score?

2. Is there any suggestions?I know it does not have short cuts to rebuild score, but it should have better ways /  habbits to do so. Please let me know what you would do in this situation. Any input is appreciated. 

3. Why the Experian and Equifax has huge difference?   

Thanks again

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
jamie123
Valued Contributor

Re: Newbie here. Need some help please

DO NOT PAY OFF YOUR CAR LOAN! Once your car loan is paid off it will actually hurt your score but if your interest rate is high you could save money by paying it off.