Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newcomer - need advice...

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Newcomer - need advice...

First timer to the Forum.   I wish I had discovered this years ago, but I have now!  I was recently terminated from my job and I'm in recovery mode (emotionally, financially, mentally, etc).  I had some monies from deferred comp and I want to pay off Cap 1, WAMU and a couple of debts which total about $5000 altogether.   I have not seen my credit report  lately but I have an idea of what is on there.  At  this point I guess it's better to wait until January to request it?  It Is  best to pay these off or should I leave a small balance and keep them open?  Do I have any  negotiation power with these guys if I call and let them know I want to pay the balance?  Is there a benefit to paying debts off during a certain time of the month  as far as the reporting agencies are concerned?   Right now I have little to no knowledgeable of  the credit arena so I need some advice.  I have started reading the threads and other links and I will stay with this.  Wish I had discovered the Forum before now. 

After paying these how long does it take before it affects my score?   Right now I think I am in the low 600s.  I would like to a re-finance my mortgage if score is raised high enough.  I have to get informed on that issue as far as fees, etc.   I noticed  ScoreWatch is a recommendation for keeping up with my scores.  I think I will sign up for this.  Until I get back on my feet job wise, I am nervous, of course, about spending this money, but getting these debts paid off is absolutely the best thing to do. 

I'm also nervous because this is xmas but I realized the priority has to be my credit. 

Need a little advice...

Imani15-

Message 1 of 3
2 REPLIES 2
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Newcomer - need advice...