Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Next steps in establishing credit score

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Next steps in establishing credit score

Earlier this year I married a US citizen and just a few weeks ago received my permanent residency.  Having moved to the US I have no US credit history.  In October I appeared on the US credit reporting agencies records (I downloaded my free annual report from experian).  So far this is what I have tried:

The credit report lists two credit inquiries by a local credit union where my wife and I opened joint accounts (the first time the report said my SSN was not valid, a few days later we provided additional documents and they did another pull).

1) Work colleagues suggested opening a store card.  Tried that and was rejected - not enough open accounts with positive record

2) I had been banking with Chase for 14 months with my pay going in to a checking account.  I though I have a good savings record (over $2k per month) and they can see my pay going in, so I applied for a card.  Rejected - insufficient credit history.

3) Did some investigation on starting a credit history.  Found references to secured cards.  Applied for a secured card with US bank because they have branchers both near home and near work.  That was a week ago and still waiting for a response or a withdrawal for the security funding.

4) More reading realised a second card could be useful so visited a local small bank and after discussion with them opened accounts with them and applied for a secured card (banking with them imporves chances of approval).   If approved in a few days they will take funding out of my account.

I would like to establish a good credit score so that we can buy a house together in the not too distant future.  What additional steps can I take.  I am conscious that I will now have a number of inquiries on my record, so need to consider steps carefully.

Thank you!

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
HiLine
Blogger