cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Pay down mortgage, pay down school loans, or invest?

tag
mjr2444

Pay down mortgage, pay down school loans, or invest?

I think a common question for a lot of people. I'm 35.....in the process of having a house built (I move in June). House has been appraised at $443k and in June, the mortgage will only be $259k (so I'll have at least $180k equity). I am on a 10 year ARM at 3.75%.

School loans, $135k worth of them at 4.625% (I consolidated)...graduated law school but not using the degree. Payment is about $550 a month but will eventually raise up to $1,300 at the highest point in maybe 15 years. Swear I've been paying this loan off for 5 years and taken maybe $500 off the principle due to all the accumulated interest from when I was in school (thus, it's going to take 25 years to pay this off). I would probably like to practice one day....but I've been running a successful business since I was 23 and have kind of gone with it (make about $150-200k per year). I have about $125k in pre-tax retirement accounts. No credit card debt. Have about $65k in bank....I guess my "emergency fund" if you will.

Trying to figure out what to do....I normally fund my retirement as much as I can per year with pre-tax dollars (been doing about $34k per year). I normally have a good $30k savings at end of year from business (and this is what I am wondering what to do with).