Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Pay off cards or car?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Pay off cards or car?

I'm in commercial real estate so I make significant commissions then go long periods of time without cash flow. Up and down. 

I'm relatively new in the business so I racked up about 30k in CC debt until I closed my first deal. 

Should I pay off my car (about 30k) or wipe my credit card debt clean?

Pretty sure I need to clear credit card debt because the interest rate on my car loan is very low.

Thoughts? Thanks everyone!

Message 1 of 14
13 REPLIES 13
Kree
Established Contributor

Re: Pay off cards or car?

99% of the time paying off the CCs is the prudent choice.

Message 2 of 14
howellco2
Frequent Contributor

CC all the way even refinace car for a lower rate unless its already low Win win

MAJOR BANK CARDS Amex BC 15k, Amex CM 1500, Amex Delta 1k, BB&T Travel 4500, BBVA 6900, CAP1QS 2600, Discover 3300, Marvel MC 6000, Wells Fargo CR 4500, Blispay 2k
CREDIT UNION CARDS DCU 2k , Robbins 10k, United1st 5k
STORE CARDS Amazon 10k, Home Depot 5k, PayPal 4k, Walmart 6k, Lowes 12k
Message 3 of 14
Anonymous
Not applicable

definitely focus on the cards first

considering your pay will always be up/down, I would put aside money to not have to rely on credit cards again during the slow periods

I would do this even if it meant paying a little more interest on the cards until your backup fund is established.

Ideally what you end up doing is setting a budget, putting ALL of your checks into savings as you get them, then withdraw your monthly budget amount each month and essentially give yourself a consistent paycheck. You're also going to save far more of the proceeds from any big sales this way.

Message 4 of 14
Anonymous
Not applicable

Ok so I just paid off all my CC debt at one time this morning. Paid off a little bit of the car, but it is already very low interest rate and a small payment so I am good there.