Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Personal Loan

tag
cet2062
Valued Member

Personal Loan

Hi, not sure if this is where I'm supposed to post this or not! 

I am a student and my parents are sort of struggling financially. Their credit is not that great, but it is starting to rebuild. I was just wondering the chances of getting a personal loan from a credit union? What do they generally look for, the loan amount wouldn't be substantial as I don't make that much money. I would only want a small loan of 500-1000 because like I said I want to help my parents out but also I think it'd be a great way to build me some credit by having a loan installment account.

I currently have two credit cards, Bank of America Student Platinum Plus (600 limit) and a Belk card (200). BoA card has balance of 72 and Belk has balance of 0!

Any help would be greatly appreciated!  

Message 1 of 3
2 REPLIES 2
boomhower
Valued Contributor

Re: Personal Loan

It really varies from CU to CU.  Best thing to do is walk in and talk with a loan officer.  Most CU have excellent customer service and will be more than happy to tell you what their requiremetns are and what options you may have.  It would be a good way of helping your credit history as well.  Adding and installment account to your credit mix will be a positive.

Message 2 of 3
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor

Re: Personal Loan

First of all, aside from any other issues, I must comment that I am impressed with your willingness to accrue your own debt to assist your parents. That is not a mindset often seen in youth today.