Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Playing The Credit Game...Can I win?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Playing The Credit Game...Can I win?

I'm new to the credit game and I think there's a plan to create a high beacon score by creating a limited credit file and paying all bills on time and here's my plan, comments and advice are not only appreciated but encouraged.

1) Open 4 accounts: A secured Bank of America credit card with a $300 limit, an Orchard Bank secured credit card with a $300 limit, a Best Buy or comparable card, and an Exxon card.

2) I will start with the secured cards first to create both a history and to prove that I can make payments on time for 3 months before attempting to appy for the other 2 cards.

3) I will make sure that when the balances are reported they will be zero, though I will use the cards in place of cash they will be paid even before they are posted by using the online payment method.

4) I will then apply for the Best Buy and the Exxon card based on my limited but perfect payment history.

5) I will then pay all the balances in full every month to show zero liability.

6) At the end of approximately 15 months I'll check my FICO score and hopefully it'll be in the 700 range.

All advice would be greatly appreciated. Do you think my plan is a sound one for both establishing credit and creating a high score over a relatively short time? I want to buy a home next December and with the credit crunch and the high number of defaults from consumers that were high risk, would my plan help me get a prime interest rate with lenders though both my credit history and high credit will be limited and my score probably high? Also from your experiences with the the three major reporting agencies what do you think my score would be?

I need all the advice I can get so please don't hesitate to help me any way you can for it would be appreciated.

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
Anonymous
Not applicable