cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Possible effect of "hardship payment plan" on Visa?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Possible effect of "hardship payment plan" on Visa?

Hi- Newbie here, please be patient. One of my Chase Visa accounts sought to increase my minimum payment by about $100 per month. I chose to close this account myself several years ago, and have always had a 100% perfect payment record on it (and other accounts) both before & since. While I'd obviously love to pay it off ASAP, I also have to deal with the reality of having many other responsibilities. Some months ago I spoke with one of their reps- "no problem sir, your payment won't go up, etc.", then recently I get a letter as if that call never happened. I call back, they offer to put me on a "hardship payment program" which will keep the minimum payment unchanged. They swear up & down that merely BEING on the "hardship program" won't negatively impact my credit score, as long as I keep up my perfect payment record. I recorded the call in case I had to PROVE that multiple reps at Chase told me this in the phone call.
     Still, while I am uneasy about trusting them, I may have no good choice but to trust them. Any advice, experience, or comments?
                                                                     Thanks, Vic
Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Possible effect of "hardship payment plan" on Visa?

It really depends on how they report it.  If they report as on time with no special notification, you'll be fine.  If they report as delinquent, you have a problem, as you also do if they show a "hardship payment plan" notation on credit.

Message 2 of 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

So did they lie to me?